New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Julia Michaels Returns With New EP, ‘Inner Monologue Part I’ – Stream Here!

Time and time again, Julia Michaels has proved that she’s more than capable of delivering pop perfection. Facts are Facts America, she’s been doing the damn thing since breaking out on her own with the Grammy-nominated “Issues” in 2017.

Just last year, Julia remained consistent with the Trippie Redd-assisted “Jump,” a slew of stellar, high-profile collabs (“There’s No Way” with Lauv, “Lie to Me” with 5 Seconds of Summer, “Like To Be You” with Shawn Mendes, and “Keep Talking” with Rita Ora) and soundtrack contributions (“Heaven,” “In This Place” and “Are You“).

This week, she’s finally ready to get back into the swing of things on her own terms! Julia has released her new EP, Inner Monologue, Pt. 1, a day before of its scheduled January 25 release. The new six-song collection marks Julia‘s first release since her 2017 EP, Nervous System, and it comes loaded with brand new collaborations with Selena Gomez and Niall Horan.

All of the songs are varying levels of “good” upon first listen, but one of them definitely needs to be highlighted – and that’s “Anxiety,” featuring Selena Marie Gomez.

On it, Julia and Selena offer a raw and honest glimpse into their battles with anxiety and depression. “But all my friends, they don’t know what it’s like, what it’s like/ They don’t understand why I can’t sleep through the night,” the duo reveal across soft acoustics and strings. “I’ve been told that I could take something to fix it/ Damn, I wish it, I wish it was that simple, ah/ All my friends they don’t know what it’s like, what it’s like.”

The collaboration makes total sense in song, as the two have both been big advocates for mental health over the years. It’s soothing musical medicine for the heavy hearted. Listen below!

Julia Michaels’ new Inner Monologue, Part 1 – EP is also available on Apple Music now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *