Music Videos,  New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Nick Jonas Announces New LP ‘Last Year Was Complicated’, Duets With Tove Lo On ‘Close’!

Is your body ready? Nick Jonas wants you close, “Oh, so close”!

The last time we heard from Dad Jonas, he was taking us higher with last year’s late summer radio banger, “Levels“! Since then, he’s gone right back into the recording studio, starred in Ryan Murphy‘s Scream Queens and another season of Kingdom, re-released his self-titled album in November and announced a tour with his fellow Disney sis Demi Lovato called The Future Now Tour, which officially kicks off June 24!

But before he hits the road, we will have a brand new album titled Last Year Was Complicated to enjoy on June 10 — and “Close,” featuring Swedish Queen Tove Lo, is the first single! Unlike the very upbeat “Levels,” “Close” – produced by Mattman & Robin – finds Nick opening up like never before against some hard-hitting atmospheric R&B pulsations on the vulnerable, soon-to-be radio smash.

“Cause if I want you, and I want you, babe/ Ain’t going backwards, won’t ask for space/ Cause space is just a word made up by someone who’s afraid to get too/ Close, ooh/ Oh, so close, ooh/ I want you close, ooh/ Cause space is just a word made up by someone who’s afraid to get close,” he croons before Tove comes in with an equally emotional verse. It doesn’t necessarily scream “BIG FIRST SINGLE,” but it’s undeniably a great complex, grown-up number from Nick that sounds unlike anything else on the radio right now – That’s a plus in my book!

“I’ve been making this record for a year and a half… Pouring everything I have into it. Tomorrow night I’m gonna show the world the first single. When I first started making I thought I knew what it would be about… Then I had a breakup,” Nick wrote on his Twitter account. “It then became very clear what this thing would be about… And that I would need to dig really deep. Sh-t is too real sometimes… Reliving some of these real life experiences through this music is hard. But I know it’s important that I do it. I want to be an open book in my art.. The first song you’re gonna hear tomorrow night is about how I literally can’t open up and be vulnerable with someone.”

1. Voodoo
2. Champagne Problems
3. Close (feat. Tove Lo)
4. Chainsaw
5. Touch
6. Bacon (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)
7. Good Girls (feat. Big Sean)
8. The Difference
9. Don’t Make Me Choose
10. Under You
11. Unhinged
12. Comfortable

Pre-order Nick Jonas’ new album Last Year Was Complicated on iTunes / Apple Music  now!

 photo nick-jonas-last-year-was-complicated_zpslmiy0zhm.png

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *