New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Sam Smith Shares ‘In The Lonely Hour’ Re-Release Cut ‘Drowning Shadows’!

After capitulating to super stardom with his 2014 debut In The Lonely Hour, which scored him four Grammys and went on to sell nine million copies worldwide – Sam Smith has decided to properly close out his fantastic year which a special expanded double-disc re-release of his award-snatching LP titled In The Lonely Hour: Drowning Shadows Edition.

The reissue will contain both the 14-track original tracks of the album and a nine-song bonus disc. The latter will feature live versions and covers of Whitney Houston‘s “How Will I Know?” and Amy Winehouse‘s “Love Is a Losing Game,” plus a new song called “Drowning Shadows,” which just made its debut today (November 2) on Zane Lowe‘s Beat 1 show. The song is signature Smith piano-driven balladry, as the sensitive Brit gets really real about about him being at a crossroads and making a decision about whether he wanted to go out or stay in: “Go home to nothing or stay out for more?/ Give in to someone or lock down my door?/ Or drown all my shadows, drown them like before?/ I’m drowning shadows once more.”

“‘Drowning Shadows‘ is the saddest song I’ve ever written and the least radio-friendly song I’ve ever written,” Sam told Zane Lowe. “I wanted to leave people on this artistic little song and this moment. This is proper… really dark.”

In the Lonely Hour: Drowning Shadows Edition arrives this Friday (November 6)!

1. Money On My Mind
2. Good Thing
3. Stay With Me
4. Leave Your Lover
5. I’m Not The Only One
6. I’ve Told You Now
7. Like I Can
8. Life Support
9. Not In That Way
10. Lay Me Down
11. Restart
12. Latch (Acoustic)
13. La La La
14. Make It to Me

Disc 2:
1. Drowning Shadows
2. Love Is a Losing Game
3. Nirvana
4. How Will I Know?
5. Omen (Acoustic) [feat. Disclosure] 6. Latch [feat. Disclosure] (Live from Madison Square Garden, New York)
7. Stay With Me [feat. Mary J. Blige] 8. I’m Not The Only One [feat. A$AP Rocky] 9. Lay Me Down [feat. John Legend]

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *