Music Videos,  New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Florence + the Machine Officially Kicks Off ‘High As Hope’ Era With The Liberating ‘Hunger’!

Florence + The Machine are back — like really, really back this time.

After supplying a more stark and restrained Record Store Day special with “Sky Full of Song” last month, the talented Miss Florence Welch has unveiled “Hunger,” the liberating first official single of Florence + The Machine‘s forthcoming studio album, High As Hope, which is set for release June 29.

Hunger” premieres today (May 3) accompanied by stunning new video directed by A.G. Rojas, which matches the song’s soaring drama. “This song is about the ways we look for love in things that are perhaps not love, and how attempts to feel less alone can sometimes isolate us more,” says Florence in a statement. “I guess I made myself more vulnerable in this song to encourage connection, because perhaps a lot more of us feel this way than we are able to admit. Sometimes when you can’t say it, you can sing it.”

The song itself pairs Florence‘s intimate, and honest lyricism with a broader sense of acceptance, community and joy over an otherworldly instrumentation, loaded with pleasant strings and crashing drums. “We all have a hunger/ We all have a hunger,” she chants throughout. It’s effectively about acknowledging those holes in our psyche that we try to fill with love and hate, obsessions or addictions but you can ultimately only ever satisfy within the acknowledgement of yourself.

It’s soulful. It’s flawless. It’s undeniably Florence + The Machine.

1. June
2. Hunger
3. South London Forever
4. Big God
5. Sky Full of Song
6. Grace
7. Patricia
8. 100 Years
9. The End of Love
10. No Choir

Florence + The Machine’s new single “Hunger” is also available on Spotify and Apple Music now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *