New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

CHVRCHES Make Sweet Synth-Pop Magic With Matt Berninger On ‘Love Is Dead’ Single, ‘My Enemy’

Following the release of “Get Out” last month, Scottish trio CHVRCHESLauren Mayberry, Iain Cook and Martin Doherty – have confirmed the release of their third full-length album. Entitled Love Is Dead, the 13-track effort is set to arrive on May 25th through Glassnote Records. It follows CHVRCHES‘ 2015 sophomore LP, Every Open Eye.

Love Is Dead is an album about growing up and “coming to terms with the fact that there are great things in the world and there are awful things in the world and that you can’t get one without the other,” explains frontwoman Lauren. Adds bandmate Iain: “We’re fucked, the world is fucked. But there’s an ellipses at the end. It’s Love Is Dead. Like, how did we get to this point? And how do we move on from this point? It’s Love Is Dead, we’re fucked, what’s next?”

Grammy Award-winning producer Greg Kurstin produced nine of the album’s 13 tracks and Steve Mac produced “Miracle,” marking the first time the band worked with an outside producer. The National frontman Matt Berninger also contributed, as he sings on the newly released single: “My Enemy

The track is an airy, light, and more chilled-out than its predecessor, and is especially significant as a different sonic landscape from the sort of stuff Berninger and co. are known for, but for the record, he sounds great here trading sweet verses with Lauren.

And you could be my enemy/ And you could be my judge/ If you could start remembering all the time that you used up/ And you could be my remedy/ If you could show me love/ If I could stop remembering all the time that you used up,” they croon across the moody atmospherics.

“We’ve all been huge fans of The National for a long time,” Lauren said in a statement. “We had played a few festivals together but really got to know Matt when we were involved in 7 Inches For Planned Parenthood, a fundraising and awareness campaign that he spearheaded. It’s really inspiring and reassuring to meet other artists you admire and realise that they are trying to do some good in the world. We kept in touch after that and, when it came time to record My Enemy, Iain and Martin suggested I email Matt to see if he’d like to sing on it. We never realistically thought he’d have time to do it but he replied right away and recorded the track at his house the next day.”

1. Graffiti
2. Get Out
3. Deliverance
4. My Enemy
5. Forever
6. Never Say Die
7. Miracle
8. Graves
9. Heaven/Hell
10. God’s Plan
11. Really Gone
12. ii
13. Wonderland

CHVRCHES’ new single “My Enemy (feat. Matt Berninger)” is also available on Apple Music and Spotify now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *