New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Sam Smith Searches For Hope On ‘Pray’, Announces New Album ‘The Thrill Of It All’!

Sam Smith is making his return to Saturday Night Live this weekend, but before all that goes down, he’s got some news exciting news to share with us first.

The Oscar-winning hit-maker has just announced that he’s hitting the road again for a North American tour in support of his forthcoming sophomore album, called The Thrill Of It All. The arena run will kick off on June 18, 2018 at Air Canada Centre in Toronto and include shows at Barclays Center in Brooklyn (June 27), New York City’s Madison Square Garden (June 29) and STAPLES Center in Los Angeles (August 28 & 29). See full tour dates here!

On top of the tour news, Sam has unveiled the black-and-white artwork and official tracklist for The Thrill Of It All, which is set to hit stores on November 3 via Capitol Records. And, along with all of that, Sam also dropped off a brand new promo single: “Pray,” produced by Sam‘s close friend and long-time collaborator Jimmy Napes alongside Timbaland.

Like most of what we’ve heard from Sam, “Pray” sees the “Stay With Me” crooner laying down his powerhouse vocals on-top of a slow-building, choir-assisted production. But unlike his slightly more stripped-back lead single “Too Good at Goodbyes,” “Pray” sees Sam getting more spiritual than ever on this search for hope power ballad.

I’ve made it this far on my own/ But lately, that shit ain’t been getting me higher/ I lift up my head and the world is on fire/ There’s dread in my heart and fear in my bones/ And I just don’t know what to say,” he confesses before bursting into a soaring cry on the song’s goosebumps-inducing chorus: “And I’m gonna pray, pray/ Maybe I’ll pray, pray for a glimmer of hope/ Maybe I’ll pray, pray,” Sam sings as the song organically builds along the cinematic production that keeps the focus entirely on his full-bodied vocals, leading all the way to what is a genuinely epic-feeling climax. Like bam! Emotions. These runs!! Christ!!

If ever there were a Sam Smith song that deserves a full high production treatment for a major live TV performance or something, it’s probably this one — orchestra and all – and it’s most likely why he’s decided to release it before his SNL return. A stunning listening, from start to finish.

1. Too Good at Goodbyes
2. Say It First
3. One Last Song
4. Midnight Train
5. Burning
6. HIM
7. Baby, You Make Me Crazy
8. No Peace (feat. YEBBA)
9. Palace
10. Pray

Special Edition:
11. Nothing Left for You
12. The Thrill of it All
13. Scars
14. One Day at a Time

Sam Smith’s brand new song “Pray” is also available on Apple Music and Spotify now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *