New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Hey Violet Announce Debut LP ‘From The Outside’ Release, Drop Self-Empowerment Anthem ‘O.D.D.’!

Unless you’re new around here, then you already know that I’m all about Hey Violet, the Alt-pop quintet who I introduced last year.

Following the release of their breakout hit “Guys My Age” and “Break My Heart” in March, the rising fivesome – consisting of Rena Lovelis (lead vocals), her sister Nia Lovelis (drums), Miranda Miller (keys, vocals), Casey Moreta (lead guitar) and Iain Shipp (bass) – have finally announced that they will be releasing their debut full-length album, called From The Outside, on June 16th via Hi or Hey Records/Capitol/Caroline Records.

The 12-track LP is set to come packed with the previously released “Brand New Moves,” “Fuqboi,” “Guys My Age,” “Break My Heart,” and the just released “O.D.D.” – a somber, more chilled out affair. Unlike the majority of what we’ve heard, “O.D.D.” is a way of offering up some words of encouragement via a self-empowerment anthem. “I’m a little O.D.D/ Most people really don’t get me/ I’m the girl in the back of the class/ Blank stare, don’t care, don’t ask…,” Rena sings across the tripping atmospherics.

“Whenever we play this live, I give my spiel before the song,” Rena told Rookie. “I say, ‘We all feel different sometimes, we all feel a little out of places, a little messed up, and honestly it’s okay and it only makes you human. There’s nothing wrong with being human. That’s the most honest and vulnerable part of you, and it becomes more authentic and more true to who you are a person.’ I say that at shows because it’s like a precursor to what the song is about, and I think it resonates with a lot of people, with me, and with the band. It’s OK to be yourself, to have your own opinions, and voice. You should never apologize for that.”

1. Break My Heart
2. Brand New Moves
3. Guys My Age
4. Hoodie
5. My Consequence
6. O.D.D.
7. All We Ever Wanted
8. Fuqboi
9. Unholy
10. Where Have You Been (All My Night)
11. Like Lovers Do
12. This Is Me Breaking Up With You

“O.D.D.” by Hey Violet is also available on Apple Music and Spotify!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *