Music Videos,  New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

‘Hard Times’: Paramore Make Their Return With An Unexpectedly Fantastic ’80’s-Inspired Gem!

Paramore are finally at it again… but probably not in the way you were expecting. They’ve switched things up, in more ways than one.

The fabulously talented Hayley Williams-fronted band, who have provided us with some of the best “too rock for pop and too pop for rock” records over the past decade, have returned at last after almost four years of silence with “Hard Times,” the lead single from their long-awaited fifth studio album, called After Laughter (due out next month on May 12)!

The 12-track LP was recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio B, marking the first time the group recorded an album in their hometown. It was produced by frequent Beck collaborator Justin Meldal-Johnsen and the band’s guitarist, Taylor York. It also marks the return of original member Zac Farro (drummer), who left the band with his brother Josh in 2010.

As for the lead single, “Hard Times” sees the rock trio straying far far away from the more dark-edged, head-bang-y rock sounds of some their past material and trading them in for cleaner, more rhythmic and sun-kissed textures of the ’80s. “Hard times/ Gonna make you wonder why you even try/ Hard times/ Gonna take you down and laugh when you cry/ These lives/ And I still don’t know how I even survive/ Hard times, hard times/ And I gotta hit rock bottom!,” Hayley enthusiastically exclaims on the giddy, synth-heavy hook.

I mean, I sure as hell did not see this coming: It’s fun, pleasant and very ’80’s freestyle-sounding. Looks like we will have to expect the unexpected from here on out. It’s an exciting new sound for Paramore – GET INTO IT!

1. Hard Times
2. Rose-Colored Boy
3. Told You So
4. Forgiveness
5. Fake Happy
6. 26
7. Pool
8. Grudges
9. Caught In The Middle
10. Idle Worship
11. No Friend
12. Tell Me How

Paramore’s forthcoming album After Laughter is available for pre-order on iTunes now!


  • Rob Groothuis

    A brilliant gem! The direction and style of the band could not have produced a better set of songs. The entire recording is one of the best collections of matured musicians creating a true form of their core. I’m overwhelmed with the consistency and well thought out, yet so REAL songs and production. Hayley…. Damn girl…. This truly shows what amazing talent you and your band have!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *