New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Linkin Park Make Their Return To The Mainstream With Kiiara On ‘Heavy’!

Linkin Park are officially back y’all! Yes, you read that correctly. This is indeed a post about LINKIN PARK… are you shook?

It ’twas over a decade ago, back in the glorious year of 2001, that the band – Chester Bennington, Mike Shinoda, Brad Delson, Dave Farrell, Rob Bourdon and Joe Hahn – had all our heads bangin’ against the wall with their breakout Top 2 hit, “In The End.” From there, they went on to release Meteora in 2013, the most successful album in the history of the Alternative Songs chart. I am not ashamed or afraid to admit that I still have my physical copy, “Somewhere I Belong” and “Numb” were straight-up everything to me during my angsty teenage years. I just had a lot of feelings…

Since then, Linkin Park have gone on to release four more albums: Minutes to Midnight (2007), A Thousand Suns (2010), Living Things (2012) and The Hunting Party (2014). Aside from Minutes to Midnight‘s “What I’ve Done” and “Bleed It Out,” I honestly couldn’t name any other songs they’ve released since Meteora. I simply stopped caring… Until now that is.

The guys have just announced that they will be releasing their new album One More Light on May 19th via Warner Bros, and the official lead single called “Heavy” features “Gold” breakout star Kiiara. But that’s not all, it was also co-written by hit-making duo Julia Michaels and Justin Tranter. YUPP, Linkin Park are looking to re-connect with the mainstream.

The obvious trend-hopping production aside, “Heavy” itself isn’t all that bad. It’s a solid little pop duet that manages to blend bits of both Linkin and Kiiara‘s sounds without sounding too forced. It’s a random pairing, sure, but the collaboration makes total sense in song, as the two effortlessly trade sweet melodies across the moody, melodramatic power ballad.

1. Nobody Can Save Me
2. Good Goodbye
3. Talking To Myself
4. Battle Symphony
5. Invisible
6. Heavy (feat. Kiiara)
7. Sorry For Now
8. Halfway Right
9. One More Light
10. Sharp Edges

Linkin Park’s new single “Heavy” feat. Kiiara is also available on Apple Music and Spotify!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *