New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

The Weeknd Takes Us Deeper Into ‘Starboy’ With ‘Party Monster’ & ‘I Feel It Coming’!

The Weeknd is here to brighten up your Friday! (Or darken it, I don’t know you..)

With only a week to go until Starboy hits stores on November 25, The Weeknd drops not one, but two new tracks from the anticipated 18-track collection. Following the seriously addicting Daft Punk-featuring title track and the manic “False Alarm,” the Canadian crooner unleashes “Party Monster” and album closer “I Feel It Coming,” once again featuring Daft Punk – PRAISE!

The first song “Party Monster,” is a brooding dancefloor killer that creepily builds along spacey next-level R&B melodies and tripping hip-hop beats, leading all the way to what is a genuinely a massive sounding hook: “I’m like, Got up, thank the lord for the day/ Woke up by a girl, I don’t even know her name/ Woke up by a girl, I don’t even know her name.” To no one’s surprise, the song also offers up some effortlessly strong melodies throughout — the un-credited Lana Del Rey croons floating in the distance, specifically, are everything towards the end — resulting in some rather thrilling night-time musical medicine. It’s almost even Tron-like, I am hooked.

And then there’s the Daft Punk-assisting “I Feel It Coming,” a slightly more welcoming affair as far as production is concerned. “You’ve been scared of love/ And what it did to you/ You don’t have to run/ I know what you’ve been through,” Weeknd assures on top of the lush, laid-back disco groove. “Just a simple touch/ And it can set you free/ We don’t have to rush/ When you’re alone with me.” But it’s those final two minutes, where the distorted robo-voices begin to make their way into the speakers (“I feel it coming, I feel it coming babe“), and the song truly seals the deal by morphing into a signature Daft Punk tune, evoking instant nostalgia.

The Weeknd is coming for that quarter four crown y’all, be prepared!

1. Starboy (feat. Daft Punk)
2. Party Monster
3. False Alarm
4. Reminder
5. Rockin’
6. Secrets
7. True Colors
8. Smartgirl Interlude (feat. Lana Del Rey)
9. Sidewalks (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
10. Six Feet Under
11. Love to Lay
12. A Lonely Night
13. Attention
14. Ordinary Life
15. Nothing Without You
16. All I Know (feat. Future)
17. Die for You
18. I Feel It Coming (feat. Daft Punk)

The Weeknd’s new album Starboy is available to pre-order on iTunes now!


A photo posted by The Weeknd (@theweeknd) on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *