New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

Lady Gaga Strips It WAY Down On ‘Joanne’ Ballad, ‘Million Reasons’!

Don’t call her Lady Gaga, it’s Joanne.

Yupp… this is a thing that’s happening. Following the release of “Perfect Illusion,” it’s been made very clear that we’re getting a entirely different Gaga this time around. Further proof: “Million Reasons,” the second taste off of her forthcoming studio album Joanne – due out on October 21st – is undeniably one of her most beautiful moments yet.

The slow-drifting ballad, complimented by subtle acoustics and a gentle piano melody (which was co-written by Hillary Lindsey, who also wrote Carrie Undwerwood‘s still iconic “Jesus Take The Wheel“), is as mesmerizing and as lovely as some of her signature ballads – “Speechless” and “You & I” – it’s absolutely stunning. “I bow down to pray. I try to make the words seem better,” Gaga cries out on the stripped-down production. “Lord show me the way to cut through all this worn out leather. I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away. But baby I just need one good one to stay.”

Yes, yes, vocally and lyrically this is beautiful, but I’m beginning to get worried about the production quality of these songs. With Mark Ronson and “Sorry” hit-maker BloodPop at the helm, you’d think you get something a bit more polished. The Bud Light Dive Bar Tour performance of the song sounded much more extravagant than this, sorry. I AM CONFLICTED. What do you guys think?

1. Diamond Heart
2. A-yo
3. Joanne
4. John Wayne
5. Dancin’ In Circles
6. Perfect Illusion
7. Million Reasons
8. Sinner’s Prayer (feat. Father John Misty)
9. Come to Mama
10. Hey Girl (feat. Florence Welch)
11. Angel Down

Deluxe Edition (Bonus Tracks):
12. Grigio Girls
13. Just Another Day
14. Angel Down (Work Tape)

Pre-order Lady Gaga’s forthcoming studio album Joanne (Deluxe) on iTunes now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *