New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

‘Come With Us’: Sophie Ellis-Bextor Returns With Another Dive Into Disco!

Sophie Ellis-BextorRemember Sophie Ellis-Bextor?

She’s the absolutely stunning UK singer-songwriter responsible for supplying us with the sensational “Murder On The Dancefloor” all the way back in 2001, and of course Make A Scene, her flawless fourth studio album – including “Starlight,” “Can’t Fight This Feeling” “Heartbreak (Make Me a Dancer)” and “Bittersweet.”

After releasing her more folk-inspired LP Wanderlust in 2014 (which is now her highest-charting solo album since 2001’s Read My Lips after debuting at #2), Sophie‘s decided to dive back into her disco-flavored roots with brand new single: “Come With Us,” the lead single off of her sixth studio album Familia (due out in the UK on September 2).

The song is a buoyant slice of disco-pop crafted in between pounding synthesizers and funky, fiery ’70s disco guitar licks. “Come with us/ If you give yourself a mind / We will give you your dreams/ It’s a song for us/ You’ll never want to turn away,” Sophie earnestly coos along the chorus. It’s a infectious throbber filled with endless earworm melodies, something that fits nicely into her ever-growing disco catalog.

“My new album Familia is the bolshier, more extrovert little sister to Wanderlust,” Sophie said in a statement. “It sees the Wanderlust girl move away from Eastern Europe to the warmer, sunnier climate of South America where she’s swapped vodka for tequila.”

1. Wild Forever
2. Death Of Love
3. Crystallise
4. Hush Little Voices
5. Here Comes The Rapture
6. Come With Us
7. Cassandra
8. My Puppet Heart
9. Unrequited
10. The Saddest Happiness
11. Don’t Shy Away

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *