New Music,  New Releases,  Premiere

‘One Strike’: The Return Of ’90s Girl Group All Saints!

All SaintsAll Saints, makers of classic smash hits like “Never Ever,” “Pure Shores” and “Black Coffee,” have returned!

After months and months of teasing, the ladies – Melanie Blatt, Shaznay Lewis, Nicole and Natalie Appleton – have indeed reunited and announced that their fourth studio album Red Flag – their first in nearly a decade following the release of 2006’s Studio 1 – will be released on April 8th!

Here we have “One Strike,” the official lead single and opening track off of the new record. And luckily, nothing’s really changed — they’re as holy as ever. “One Strike,” which was produced by Hutch and written by Shaznay Lewis, provokes a super infectious sense of nostalgia with its smooth gliding, synth-pop production that recalls the ’90s R&B-flavored stuff of the group’s classic sound while still infusing a modern flare throughout. “And with one strike, my world lights up in a fire / Call it a sign / Don’t need hindsight / I’ll make my emotions clear and then disappear,” the girls effortlessly harmonize on the soaring chorus. It’s a total earworm and I’m completely hooked.

“The phrase ‘one strike’ is about how your life can just change in one instant. You can be walking down the road, you’ve just left your family at home and everything’s hunky dory, then when you go back home they’re gone,” the girls told i-D. “On one side of the door your life’s amazing, on the other side it changes just like that. You can light a fire with one strike. IT’S A FIRE ANALOGY!”

1. One Strike
2. One Woman Man
3. Make U Love Me
4. Summer Rain
5. This Is A War
6. Who Hurt Who
7. Puppet On A String
8. Fear
9. Ratchet Behaviour
10. Red Flag
11. Tribal
12. Pieces

Pre-order All Saints’ fourth studio album Red Flag on iTunes now!

All Saints

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *