Entertainment,  Reviews

Katy Perry: ‘Prism’ Offiical Cover + Album Preview!

Last night, I was lucky enough to attend Katy Perry‘s exclusive album listening party held in New York City, where the 28-year-old singer previewed 11 new songs from her upcoming third studio album, Prism. Preceded by its smash hit single “Roar,” the LP will march onto shelves on October 22 via Capitol Records. Though Katy made clear that some of the tracks are still in the mixing process, I can confirm that there will be 13 songs on the standard edition and 16 songs on the deluxe edition. All guests were forced to check their phones at the door to avoid leaks, but I remember enough to give you guys a preview of the new album and what you can expect. To sum it up quickly, Prism, for the most part, feels like the continuation of Teenage Dream – like the older more sophisticated sister. There is plenty of singles to choose from and Katy has never sounded more sure of herself than she does here. I can’t wait to have it. Read more of my album preview below and also check out the official Prism cover!

Pre-order Katy Perry’s upcoming third studio album Prism on iTunes NOW!

 photo KPprism_zps2f6d5a30.png

“Legendary Lovers”
– A catchy mid-tempo retro stomper with a fun but interesting dance breakdown.
“Take me down to the river, Underneath the blood-orange sun, Say my name like a scripture, Keep my heart beating like a drum.”

– “I wanted to do something that Mariah Carey would have put on her first record,” Katy said while introducing the song.
– A radio-ready party jam with ’90s-style synths and heavy drums. Busy but strong production, should definitely be a single.
– Song ends with a “Happy Birthday” whisper.

“Walking On Air”
– Recorded in Stockholm and produced by Klas Åhlund.
– Biggest dance song on the record and total gay anthem (Katy told me that’s what she was going for).
– Inspired by Crystal Waters and CeCe Peniston.
“Just when I think I can’t take anymore we go deeper and hotter than ever before. We go higher and higher, I feel like I’m already there. I’m walking on air… tonight. I’m walking on air. I’m walking, I’m walking on air… tonight.”

– One of Katy‘s favorite songs on the record.
– Sounds like it would fit perfectly on Teenage Dream.
“There is no fear now… I will love you unconditionally.”
“Unconditional, unconditionally, I will love you unconditionally. There is no fear now… I love you conditionally.”

“Dark Horse”
– Produced by Dr. Luke and Max Martin.
– Hot trap anthem featuring Juicy J.
– Exclusive iTunes pre-order track being released Tuesday (September 17).
“So you wanna play with magic, Boy you should know what you’re falling for, Baby do you dare to do this, Cause I’m coming at you like a dark horse. Are you ready for, ready for. Perfect storm, perfect storm. Cuz once you’re mine, once you’re mine.”

“This Is How We Do”
– Recorded in Stockholm and produced by Klas Åhlund.
– A girl’s-night-out club banger and my personal favorite of the night (it needs to be a single).
– Has a spoken-word bridge and hot dance breakdown.
“Chanel this, Chanel that, hell yeah… Street stuntin’ ya we do it like that.”

“International Smile”
– Inspired By Mia Moretti, her longtime DJ bestie. “She’s my muse. Don’t tell my other friends,” Katy said while introducing the song.
– Upbeat pop song with a catchy guitar hook and a interesting robotic-esque vocoder breakdown.
– Think “Last Friday Night” turned up a couple of notches.

– Written in Santa Barbara.
– One of the darkest and moodiest tracks on the record. Think Marina & DiamondsLies” meets Katy‘s “Wide Awake
“Every gift, every letter, every promise, there forever. We were best friends… now, you’re just a ghost.”

“Love Me”
– Recorded in Stockholm and produced by Bloodshy.
– Self-empowerment jam driven by a thrilling electro-pop beat.
“I lost myself in fear of losing you”
“I know I have to love myself, the way I want you to love me.”

“Double Rainbow”
– Produced and penned by Greg Kurstin and Sia.
– It’s the big anthemic power ballad on the album and another obvious single choice.
“One man’s trash is another man’s treasure… so if it’s up to me, I’m gonna keep you forever.”
“I understand you, Like a double rainbow.”

“By The Grace Of God
– Beautiful and haunting piano ballad that serves as the closing track on the standard edition.
– Seems to be about her failed relationship/marriage with Russell Brand.
“By the grace of God, I picked myself back up, I put one foot in the front the other.”
“By the grace of God, I looked in the mirror and decided to stay, Wasn’t gonna let love take me out in that way.”


  • Tommy

    Thanks for this! Its nice to finally see what you look like too lol.

    I am a Gaga fan and this Gaga VS Perry thing is crazy but I think Perrys album might be easier to fall in love with.

    Gagas iTunes festival performance didnt impress me but just this review did!

  • CG Girl

    How cool!!!! You met Katy Perry!!! Album does sounds promising. I like her, I just hope on this album and as she continues to get older, I hope that she will grow in her music and deliver some singles that are unexpected. And most importantly of all she needs to work on becoming a well-rounded artist. She does wonderfully in the studio but her live performances are never good.

    I haven’t been convinced to go to any of her concerts because she needs to work on herself in all areas. I went to Rihanna’s concert once and I never went back she was tired, took frequent breaks and her voice was not good.

  • Bo

    The whole “it’s about to get real f*cking dark” comment was right after her split from Russell before she had even started recording. Then she met John Mayer and fell in love so that was reflected in the music. Teenage Dream probably would’ve had more songs about her break up with Travis had she not met Russell and decided to make an album that “you want to hold hands and roller skate to.” Things change. I would like to see the dark, pissed off Katy though.

  • Lucas

    If the track are as good as you describe and say, i am so excited for kate’s album….Gaga is gonna have stiff compitition i think!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *